Elluminated in Shanghai

This afternoon NZ time I had the privilege to be invited to participate in a discussion at the Learning2.0 conference – Communication, Collaboration, Connection in Shanghai by my good friend Sheryl Nussbaum-Beach.

The event was brought together with Elluminate and a group of distinguished educators from around the globe.

I was accompanied by Clarence Fisher who is a full time teacher in a small school in the backblocks of Canada. I felt close to Clarence as his school is also small and a little isolated but he uses Web2.o tools to communicate and collaborate globally. Then we featured David Jakes who is a technology co-ordinator from the US and my new friend Chris Betcher from Sydney.

Chris and I had worked together the night before the presentation discussing what we might highlight and Chris tried to lend a hand while I struggled with converting a Jing video in swf format to something that would upload as a podcast. BTW I got there in the end by using a little cunning and a lot of persistence! (If you want to embed your podcast directly into Blogger then this video will show you how. video

This is a slide that I captured from Chris’ presentation as it graphically shows how a blog can be the hub of communication and networking with live updates embedded from Twitter, YouTube, Flickr, comments, Clustrmap and other blog links.
Elluminate Live! - SHERYL NUSSBAUM-BEACH
Uploaded with Skitch!
I will post a link to review the conversation when Sheryl publishes it.

As usual I learnt more from these connections than people learnt from my ramblings.

6 thoughts on “Elluminated in Shanghai

  1. One of the great things for you at being out of the classroom this term would be the ability to join in these discussions on the other side of the world. I would join in with more SL discussions for instance but they are always at around 1pm our time so not very practical. It sounds like a great experience and I’m sure you did teach them a thing or two. I was interested in you comment about converting Jing. Do you have instructions knocking around anywhere on how to do that? I have another screencast programme called iShowU which is a great little piece of software and tend to use that. I did like the look of Jing but didn’t see how to change the format over. Did you use Quicktime Pro or an online converter?

  2. To convert the Jing video at first I Skyped the .swf file to Chris as he has a full version of a converter but for some reason it still wouldn’t convert and then I had to employ a little cunning.

    I opened the file with Quicktime Pro and it played beautifully but wouldn’t upload to Podomatic so I converted it with Quicktime to .m4a which again played happily but with mo sound. Then I used Audio Hijack to grab the sound of the one I had opened with Quicktime.

    After that I put the m4a into iMovie and put the sound from Audio Hijack with it and exported the whole thing as a Quicktime to web size. Then I uploaded the newly made .mov to Podomatic and it worked fine.

    What a long winded way of doing it- It would have been better if I could have just used the straight Jing video but it just would not upload no matter how much I tried.

    I am not terribly technically minded but I get pints for dogged determination.

    All links are in my Delicious.

    http://del.icio.us/allanahk

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *