Collaborative Dance Video

Here it is! After its conception nearly a month ago the collaborative video is ready to rock….

PreviewClick on the graphic to view the video with TeacherTube.

Angela from CORE asked me to do a write up for it for the Time4Celebration theme so I had to make up a scholarly dissertation on why I did it but it was really just a bit of fun. Here is the blurb I wrote for @Ageja

  • Purpose – The project started out as a bit of fun- it ended up that way too. We thought we would make a collaborative video in a similar style to the http://wherethehellismatt.com video that is wildly popular on You Tube. By having a collaborative dance video we were able to transcend cultural and language barriers as everyone loves to move and dance- it is pretty universal.
  • Process –I wanted the video to have an element of New Zealand wide participation but also wanted to include our global audience so I blogged about it on my education blog and on Twitter I also mentioned it when I was moderating the K12OnLine conference These avenues ensured that we got more than just New Zealand videos and added a little cultural diversity.
  • I asked that people email their videos to my little used gmail address so as to keep my main email spam free in case it got picked up by a spammer. I had a bit of trouble converting some of the videos as they came from various operating systems and in a variety of formats so I had to use a couple of online video converters and my clever Adobe Flash Video Encoder . I learnt new stuff cos I had to grab a couple of videos from people’s Blogger or Flickr accounts and turn them into movie files on my Apple. I used Orbit Downloader and it was fortunate that I had Parallels on my Mac so I could change the format using the free PC Format Factory to convert the Flash files into something that I could easily edit.
  • I used iMovie06 to create the final video as I haven’t got the hang of iMovie08 yet. I then exported it as a Quicktime movie file for uploading into ‘the cloud’. Along the way I either stripped away the original soundtrack or lowered the volume so that a universal sound track from FreePlay Music could go over the whole set to tie the thing together. I also added subtitles so people would know where in the world the videos came from.
  • The finished the movie was uploaded to Fileden so that people could download the 24MB file and save it without having to worry about buffering or viewing on possibly blocked YouTube or Flickr sites. I also uploaded it to Teacher Tube that was less likely to be blocked and YouTube so that kids could actually find it for themselves. In this way people could either view it directly with streaming video or download the higher resolution video if they wanted to to play it back for whole class viewing.
  • Product – People were asked to send in up to 20 seconds of video so I could put it together with the final cut off date 7 November- giving people plenty of time to organize themselves. The quality of the resolution of the video varied quite a bit as some teachers did not have access to digital video recorders but all videos were included in the spirit of global collaboration.
  • Reflection – It would be great to do a similar kind of thing again as it was so much fun to see what others had come up with and didn’t take very long to complete. It just needed someone with a bit of time on their hands to act as a hub for everyone to send their videos in to. Kids seem to have got into the spirit of it and look forward to seeing the finished published product.

Thank you so much to all the contributers and their classes from around New Zealand, Canada, Bangkok, the United Kingdom, @fionagrant, @charbeck, @kathycassidy, @lisibo, @efreeman, @nzchrissy, @keamac, @teachernz, @leannehough, @lenva, @jaminlietze, @njt24 and to the hundreds of kids and their teachers who enjoy a sense of fun and adventure who like to participate in a community wider than their classroom walls.

You rock!

 

21 thoughts on “Collaborative Dance Video

  1. Fantastic job Allanah! (Love the scenery – it made me feel homesick.) But how uplifting to see children dancing from all around the world. Thanks for allowing us all to be part of the global collaboration.

  2. Astonishing! and joyful too! I loved seeing such happiness – made my day. There was one dance I spotted in nearly every video: two fists alternating in front of the stomach with some rhythmic stepping on the spot – vaguely Irish in form and so energetic. Could make a great exercise video!

  3. Woohoo! Looks awesome Allanah. We need to do it all over again 🙂 Wouldn’t it be cool to do a story – each class adding the next part – will take longer but would be brilliant at the end…

  4. Pingback: Dance Around New Zealand (and the world) « Room 9

  5. I had no idea what exactly Allanah had in mind when she asked me to send a clip of my pupils – if only I’d known, the whole school would’ve been involved and had a ball! Oh to dance at the seaside… ;o)
    Brilliant video – uplifting and free are the words that spring to mind!
    Lisaxx

  6. Love it! My mind started thinking right away about how I can use your idea in another way with the group of students working on a community solving problem. I’m helping them and their teacher put together a program to bring in a miniature horse into their life skills classroom on a regular basis. The cost to do this is great so free, exciting, bouncy and happy ideas to raise money are needed. You’ve got me thinking…..

  7. Hi Allanah :+)

    Great job girl. My kids were so excited. I’m definately keen to be apart of another collaboration.

    Maybe we can set up a wiki to brainstorm some different ways we can collaborate on in the future??

    You rock girl!

  8. Pingback: Collaborative dance video | Pam's musings on life

  9. Pingback: Collaborative Dancing | Teachers + Technology = Triumph or Trouble!?

  10. Pingback: Dancing her way through teaching! | G'Day :o) Andri's blogging page!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *