Enhancing Workflow on an iPad

At the end of last term I was asked to lead a couple of presentations for the Learning at School Conference Roadshow run by CORE Education here in Nelson. It was the first time such an event had been held in the provinces and was really well supported by locals and from those further afield as well.

The presentation that I had not done before was Enhancing Workflow with an iPad- combining apps to share the learning. Here it is below.

 

I didn’t want to just spend the time just talking to the teachers at the workshop I wanted them to talk to each other- to share the learning that they already knew and become teachers themselves. And to have a base level of knowing how to work their iPad to do basic things before we went on to more advanced learning.

I went down to the local supermarket beforehand and bought a package of the now famous iPad cleaners as prizes and made up a bingo board for each person.

The deal was that people had to walk around the room and find someone who could show them how to do the tasks on the bingo board, that person showed them, then they had to do the task themselves. Then they could initial the bingo board. When they had five squares initialled in a row they yelled ‘Allanah’ and got a prize!

I was surprised the number of people who carried on just as eagerly after they had got a prize because they wanted to learn more. Eventually I felt I had to stop people so we could move on to the more advanced learning but I felt the whole session went really well because it was an energiser as well as a great learning opportunity.

iPad Bingo Chart- click on it to go to the Google Doc

To make it easy for you to personalise and make the resource your own I have made the bingo form into a Google Doc that you can copy and make your own with your own email address and the like.

The activity with all the links to the pdf tutorials and activities can be viewed and downloaded from the presentation above. It is licensed under Creative Commons Attribution, Non-Commercial, Share Alike which means you are welcome to mash-up and repurpose the presentation but please acknowledge the source.

The activity was very well received with participants coming to me later saying how much they enjoyed the opportunity to move and talk and share rather than being talked to for the entire presentation.

You may like to try the same sort of thing when you next share your learning with others.

I later repeated the presentation at the BYOD Conference run by Learning NetworkNZ at Albany Senior High School in the holidays.

iPad Bingo at BYOD Conference at Albany Senior High School

6 thoughts on “Enhancing Workflow on an iPad

  1. Pingback: Life is not a race to be first finished »...

  2. Pingback: Group Link Post 05/22/2013 | KJsDiigoBookmarks

  3. Pingback: Mr G's Idle Musings » Blog Archive » My Diigo 05/22/2013

  4. Pingback: Update: Diigo in Education group (weekly) | ChalkTech

  5. How do you feel about iPad verses other tablets or even laptops? I was just admonished by my administrator for writing a grant for iPads instead of some kind of cheaper option. Are their good cheaper options? Will we regret giving up laptops for iPads?

  6. Hi Carole

    There are cheaper options than iPads for classrooms but I have found the iPad to be more reliable and intuitive for children to use than other devices.

    I do not however think that an iPad is, or should be thought of as, a replacement for a laptop of Chromebook, but a complement to it..

    I am a firm believer in use the right tool for the job- sometimes an iPad would be best and sometimes a laptop. I want the children in my class to have options.

    Good luck with the grant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *